What To Do On the Way…

I often wonder how folks like President Obama, Oprah Winfrey, and Bill Gates felt when they recognized and knew they had greatness in their DNA. When did they make up their minds to embody all of who they were meant to be? More than that, I wonder what their lives were like before their greatness took them to large and lofty places of success. How did the people around them treat them? Did they know who they were? Did they support their dreams? Were they intimidated? Were they dismissive? Did they think, “I wonder who they think they are”?

I wonder if Obama, Winfrey and Gates were ever lonely during those days. Were they troubled because the vision for their lives did not match their lives in those “on the way” days? Were they ever afraid to actually tell people who they were? Did they struggle with who they knew they were versus the lack of knowledge expressed by others? Did they see this “on the way” time as a necessary part of the journey? A time in which they were building perseverance muscles, strengthening faith power, and learning to fully sit in the seats of their greatness?

We often hear about the lives of folks when they, as we say, “make it”.  In fact, we want to know all about them when they’ve “arrived”.  What about the days before “everybody knew their name”? Oprah Winfrey so eloquently states, “Lots of people want to ride with you in the limo, but what you want is someone who will take the bus with you when the limo breaks down”.  I’m hoping that those are the kinds of people that were with them in their “on the way” place. The kind of people that would just call out of the blue and say, “Hey, let me take you to dinner while I can get on your schedule!” or “I know one day it’ll be hard to get you on the phone, so I want to get my call in now!…not saying this because they wanted to “blow their heads up”, but they said it because they ACTUALLY believed it!

 The Message Bible states, “A prophet has little honor in his hometown, among his relatives, on the streets he played in as a child” (Mark 6:4). If you keep reading that particular passage, you’ll find out that was certainly what Jesus experienced, and as a result, the people were unable to receive all he had to offer to their lives, their futures, their right nows! How many future Obamas, Winfreys, and Gates feel just this way right now? How many of us are present enough to recognize greatness around us? Are we so preoccupied with our issues, circumstances, lives until we miss someone right in our midst that is “on their way” to expanding their territory of influence?

Some of you, like this exSuperwoman, may be in that “on the way” place. Sometimes it’s pretty trying. There are other times that are simply full of joy, fun, and bliss because you’ve learned to be fully in the moment, where you are now. And then there are those times of challenge, when you look over the horizon and dream about where you’re going and long for just a few of the accoutrements that go along with getting there: being able to help more people, being able to utilize your gifts ALONG with the resources and favor to do so; fully actualizing all of the visions in your head and heart. Yes, it’s quite something to be in this “on the way” place. So, while you’re here, I hope you’ll do what this exSuperwoman is learning to do:

  • savor every moment
  • journal your thoughts, however mundane you think they are
  • feel all of your feelings fully
  • reflect on success and challenges, not with an eye of judgment, but with a heart of acceptance
  • cheer on, encourage, affirm, acknowledge, bless the greatness in others: tangibly and in spirit
  • thank and stay connected to everyone that KNOWS who you are

Exercise your courage – the greatest of all the virtues – by preparing yourself for where you’re going: 

  • consult with someone that will help you establish your business identity AND then do it
  • establish your website; register your name with GoDaddy.com (i.e., establish your www.your-name-here.com); even though my website is to come, I’ve got www.KimberlyChandler.com so no one else will get it
  • start your Facebook page, even Twitter account
  • organize your life: get a housekeeper, personal assistant, cook, personal trainer if needed; it doesn’t have to cost a lot of money (ask friends, barter time, etc.) and you’ll save time/money in the long run—you can’t do everything on your own with a busy life!
  •  Establish a regular schedule of pampering
  • Get a Blackberry, iPhone, or other device that will allow you to make the most of your time/money by staying connected 

This is such an awe-inspiring time in my life. Every day is something new, different, or more of the same. Either way, it’s a day that becomes an essential part of my becoming. YOU are what you’re becoming.  I am what I’m becomingnow that’s mighty sweet!

 

 

Copyright 2011 by Kimberly J. Chandler

SOMETHING EXTRA: Check out Bishop T. D. Jakes…this vid is for those “on the way”! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rZpcRemufO4&feature=related

3 thoughts on “What To Do On the Way…

  1. Dr Kim,
    Those are such timely tips. Thank you so much.

    Also, just to let you know, I am in fact following you on twitter. Follow me too. Also, stop by my blog and check out my latest posts, especially on my shop page, which will be on rotation.

    I am so happy for you. I sense that you are definitely on your way–and always have been!
    ~Peace and Blessings,
    KeKeMichel

  2. Thanks KeKe. I’m just getting into Twitter, so I haven’t posted much. I’ll try to do better. I’m still trying to figure out how I can connect my FB account to Twitter so the same messages will show up. I’ll have to have one of my students show me how to do it. They know everything!

  3. Truer words and thoughts I never thought I would read out loud! We all need to be more grounded in our own presentness and less occupied with what other people think we represent. Keep writing and teaching – lessons for life and living, not fear and self-deprecation. So happy for your NOW! Still striving for my own…

Leave a Reply

