I Wish I Knew….

I wish I knew what it would take for men to take violence against women and girls seriously enough to actually do something about it every day.

I wish I knew what it would take for women to take violence against themselves and the girls they used to be seriously enough to become courageously whole to the extent that even the seemingly mildest comment, look, or gesture full of the slightest offense would necessitate a response/behavior that says NO…and means it.

I wish I knew what it would take for African American leaders (religious, social, etc.) to put the health and well-being of women and girls first on the list of “things to do” to make Black America better. No one will be better, live better, or love better until the glue that holds us together, the foundation that supports all of humanity, and the rock on which every community, family, church, and institution is built enjoys a quality of life marked by wholeness, excellent health and safety. You feed a man, you’ve fed a man. You feed a woman; you’ve ensured that an entire community will live on.

I wish I knew what it would take for women to put their interests first to the extent that Washington would look like us, religious leadership would look like us, education would teach what we need to thrive, the criminal justice system would serve our interests, and the medical community would find our health care needs central to providing for healthy communities, countries and our world.

I wish I knew what it would take for men to see their spiritual growth and maturity as central to engaging the full range of their humanity as well as creating true and lasting peace in the world. I wish those men that have already done so would become boldly aggressive in influencing men that have not — whether in the locker room, barber shop, on the basketball court, or in the White House War Room.  

I wish I had an empathy pill that I could give to everyone in which I come in contact.

I wish I knew what it would take for us to accept the humanity of everyone–not just tolerate it.

I wish I knew . . . but since I don’t, I’ll just have to keep being the change I want to see in the world and knowing the things I wish others knew.

 

…because all things are possible…

Peace,

Dr. Kim

Copyright 2011 Kimberly J. Chandler

2 thoughts on “I Wish I Knew….

Leave a Reply

