Your New Year Starts . . .

I love this time of year.  Actually, I love the time of year between my birthday – October 27th – and the New Year.  This time always prods me to think about New Year’s resolutions.  My New Year actually starts on my birthday.  I don’t wait until January 1st.  I use my birthday as a benchmark because I feel it is the start of fresh opportunities and the blessing of many yesterdays gone by.

I also love this time of year because it ushers in the Winter season.  I didn’t know how much I’d miss the Winter until I moved to New Orleans.  I miss the first snow. I miss fighting the highways so that I can get home and snuggle up in my warm bed.  I miss snow days.  I miss checking in with friends and family to see how much snow they have and if it’s different from my snow.  I miss getting “suited and booted” to go outdoors.  How I love the array of coats, boots and gloves in my clothing collection. I miss watching kids slide, tumble, and make snow angels no matter how cold or blustery the day. I miss a lot about this time of year; however, I’ve retained the one thing that all I miss represents: an opportunity to slow down and think about the future.

Some say all we have is today. That is true! However, what we do with today impacts the value, opportunities, and our readiness for tomorrow.  So, I invite you to start your New Year’s Resolution list now!  What do you want to accomplish? What do you want to change?  What do you want to retain?  Who will you keep in your life? Who do you need to let go of in order to move forward?  What will make your soul soar, your heart sing and your mind reside in peace in the new year?

As an exSuperwoman that has divorced the need to be perfect, I fully embrace the joy of starting my New Year anytime I please.  In fact, I will start it over if needed.  It’s all up to me! That’s that joy, peace and serenity of liberated living.  So, wherever you are, take a little time, cuddle up with your iPad, laptop or journal and dream about your New Year.  Then, turn your dream into a new reality and strategize ways to enact your resolutions.  Embrace your grand choice to embrace your tomorrow to day!  So, your New Year starts . . .

PEACE! – Dr. Kim

Leave a Reply

